Columbus State University Print Logo

College of Education and Health Professions

College of Education and Health Professions

College of Education and Health Professions
Assessment Council


The College of Education and Health Professions (COEHP) Assessment Council was established to manage, maintain, and formally document meaningful data. The Council is charged with providing annual, departmental books that include college, department, and program data. In addition trend analyses and retention data are documented.

The Council works closely with the following entities:

  1. The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) Coordinator: To make certain that the reported data are aligned with the accreditation requirements.

  2. The Office of Institutional Research, University Information and Technology Services, Retention Committee, and LiveText: Data Retrieval

  3. Department Chairs, Program Coordinators, and Program Faculty: To document Key Assessments and student performance. Each critical assessment begins with a documented rationale statement that creates a thread of consistency with the same course over the years regardless of who teaches the course and what venue is used.

Transparency of Data

The data are shared during the following meetings (as appropriate):

Meetings Data Collaboration
COEHP Faculty and Staff Monthly
COEHP Leadership Council Monthly
Department Meetings Annually 
Program Meetings Annually (as needed)
Principals' Roundtable Bi-Monthly (as needed)
Educator Preparation Program Council Each Semester
Program Advisory Councils Annually
Human Resources Directors Council Each Semester

Data Use

Data are used for state and national reporting, accreditation, program improvement, trend analysis, data transparency, impact on student learning, retention and unit operation decisions.

Council Membership

  • Dr. Deirdre Greer, College of Education and Health Professions Dean
  • Dr. Sallie Averitt Miller, Chair and Associate Dean for Assessment and Accreditation
  • Dr. Andrea Dawn Frazier, Department of Counseling, Foundations, and Leadership
  • Dr. Joy Thomas, Department of Health, Physical Education, and Exercise Science
  • Professor Lisa O'Steen, School of Nursing
  • Dr. Toni Franklin, Department of Teacher Education